Auron’s [apple] AwesomeSauce

My son likes to hang out in the kitchen with me.  He’s pretty dern tall for his age, but he STILL likes to stand on a chair and watch me cook.  He towers over me, casts a major shadow on my workspace, and is always asking if he can help.  It’s awesome.  He’s awesome.

He loves Granny Smith apples, so we picked up a few the other day.  Once we got home, he asked if we could make applesauce.  I told him of course we could, but HE had to develop the recipe and name it.  I let him smell several spices to see what he might want to incorporate, and he also helped chop the apples.  We had a great time and ended up with a super simple applesauce that I will probably make regularly from now on.  There was a little bit of an argument about whether or not we should add ghee, but Mommy won that one (and later he agreed that it was a good move).  The ghee added a little more depth and nuttiness to the finished product.  This recipe yields about 3 cups, and I’ll be honest – it didn’t last very long in our house.  In fact, I think Auron is finishing it as I type.  Makes a nutritious after-school snack or dessert, even if you are following The 21 Day Sugar Detox (which I completed earlier this year and plan to do again soon – hopefully this time with my husband on board).

Auron’s [apple] AwesomeSauceAuron's AwesomeSauce
makes approx. 3 cups

ingredients
4 large Granny Smith apples, peeled and chopped
Juice from 1/2 a lemon
1 tsp orange zest
1 Tbsp grass-fed ghee

directions
Mix all ingredients in a large saucepan and simmer for about 20 minutes, until apples are soft.  Mash mixture to desired consistency (we like ours a little chunkier, and this favorite tool of mine worked brilliantly!).   Cool and store in a covered glass container in the refrigerator for 1-2 weeks.  Sauce will thicken a bit as it cools.

We hope you enjoy his “awesome” apple sauce!

Always,
Abbey (& Auron)

Leave a Reply

