Strawberry Lemonade Chia Cups

My family and I had a fantastic play date in Dallas on Saturday.  We finally checked out HG Sply Co. for a great paleo lunch, hung out for a while at Klyde Warren Park, then finished our day listening to great music by our friends Rahim and Thiago at Ascension Coffee in the Dallas Design District.  It was one of those days that just makes me smile when I think about it.

A week or so ago, I was inspired by Vanessa at Plaid & Paleo, to finally try my hand at chia pudding.  She posted a simple recipe for Paleo Cranberry Chia Cups that caught my attention.  Since I have didn’t all the ingredients she used, I got creative with what I had on hand as I reminisced about my family’s sunny and smiley weekend together.  I still definitely plan on trying Vanessa’s recipe since I LOVE cranberries, but for now, we have Strawberry Lemonade Chia Cups.  Topped with fresh strawberries and packed with calcium, vit C, antioxidants, omega 3’s, etc., they are a wonderful and healthful treat my son and I are enjoying together today.

Strawberry Lemonade Chia Cups

Strawberry Lemonade Chia Cups
serves 4

ingredients
13.5 oz. can of full-fat coconut milk
Zest and juice from 2 lemons, + 2 Tbsp lemon juice
1/3 cup chia seeds
1 Tbsp local honey
2 cups organic strawberries, chopped
2 Tbsp filtered water
1 tsp grass-fed gelatin
1 cup organic strawberries, diced (optional)

directions
Combine coconut milk, lemon zest and juice from two lemons, honey, and chia seeds in a bowl.  Stir and pour into small containers (these worked great).  Refrigerator 1 hour until set.

Once pudding is set, simmer chopped strawberries, water, and remaining 2 Tbsp lemon juice in small pan for 20 minutes.  Puree strawberries in blender or food processor then return to pan.  Stir in gelatin until dissolved.  Let cool for a few minutes, then gently pour or spoon strawberry mixture atop each pudding cup.  Refrigerate 4 hours, or overnight.

Top with diced strawberries to serve.

Since this is my first time experimenting with chia seeds, I’d love to know how others use them.  What is your favorite way to use chia?

Always,
Abbey

Leave a Reply

