What did one snowman say to the other snowman?

“It smells like carrots.”

Apparently I have been on some kind of nerdy, subconscious Lost kick lately. In the last two days I have captured the following TV moments on my handy iPhone because I got a little too excited:

The Man in Black on Law & Order SVU
The Man in Black on Law & Order SVU
Yes, this guy is named Richard Alpert.  I shall henceforth call him Richardus.
Yes, this guy is named Richard Alpert. I shall henceforth call him Richardus.

It SNOWED in Dallas yesterday. Okay, it wasn’t the amazing, powdery, gorgeous whiteness that I was hoping for – it was more like the stab-you-in-the-face-with-needles cold with some decent flurries, but it still SNOWED.  So after some wonderful peppermint coffee and a pretty simple lunch, I was in the mood to cook.  And the feel and smell of the cold air (yes, it has a distinct smell) made me want soup.   Guess what kind of soup I made?  (Hint: re-read the riddle above – the one about snowmen)

What else do you do when you have a 10lb bag of organic carrots from Costco that you need to use up?
What else do you do when you have a 10lb bag of organic carrots from Costco that you need to use?

And here you have it folks – my first ever blogged recipe.  It was husband-, son-, and parent-approved, and believe me… they are all VERY honest about my cooking.  It isn’t a super sweet carrot soup, which often bothers me about some I’ve had in the past.  It has a wee bit of spice to it, which you could easily eliminate if you don’t like spice or if you are following Autoimmune protocol.  It also is completely dairy free and uses raw cashews for the creamy element, rather than coconut milk – but you could most certainly use that if that is what you’ve got on hand.  I just happened to be out of coconut milk, but did have raw cashews.  Score!

Creamy Carrot Soup with Bacon, Cilantro, & Pecans
serves 4-6 hungry people

ingredients
2 pieces nitrate-free bacon, chopped (I prefer to use this to chop, because it is easier)
2 lbs organic carrots, peeled and chopped into 1″ish pieces
2 cups bone broth (chicken is best)
2 cups water (or you could use more broth)
1 medium yellow onion (I like to use this chopper so I don’t cry/for stress relief)
4 cloves garlic, chopped or pressedIMG_7523[1]
1/2 tsp coriander
1 tsp ginger
3/4 tsp cumin
3/4 tsp oregano
1/8 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp good sea salt
1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper
juice of 1 lime or lemon
1/2 cup raw cashews (soaked if you prefer)

Recommended toppings for soup:
bacon
chopped fresh cilantro
chopped pecans
avocado would also be divine because it always is.

directions
Add chopped carrots, bone broth, and water to a medium pan and bring to a boil.  Boil for 15-20 minutes until carrots are VERY tender.

While carrots are boiling, add chopped bacon to a cool skillet and render out the fat on med-low until the bacon is crisp.  Remove the delicious meaty bits with a slotted spoon and place them on a paper towel to cool.

Return your skillet with all the lovely bacon fat to the heat and add the chopped onion.  Sauté the onion for 2-3 minutes, until it begins to become translucent.  Add garlic, spices, and salt, and continue cooking for 8-10 minutes, until onion is soft.

Remove carrots from their pan, but reserve liquid.  Add onion mix, carrots, lime juice, and cashews to a blender or food processor, along with some of the broth/water in which you boiled the carrots.  The amount of liquid you add will depend on the consistency you’d like your soup.  I actually used all the liquid and the soup was still nice and thick.

Ladle soup into bowls and please top with bacon, chopped pecans, and fresh cilantro, because that is what finished everything off perfectly.  I did not add chopped avocado this time as recommended above, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be doing that from now on.  Carrots and avocados are really good friends at my house.

I hope you love it as much as my family did.  I’m excited for the leftovers because I’m pretty sure I’ll have this for breakfast :-).  Oh, and this is Whole30 and 21DSD approved!

Always,
Abbey

Creamy Carrot Soup with Bacon, Cilantro, & Pecans
Creamy Carrot Soup with Bacon, Cilantro, & Pecans

Leave a Reply

