Smoky Roasted Root Fries

My husband sent me this photo earlier (unsure of the original source) and I giggled a little because I knew I would be posting this recipe.  Good timing.  He has that gift, most of the time :-).

Back to Our Roots
Back to Our Roots

I make these “fries” quite often.  They resemble a french fry in shape and texture, but their flavor is much more unique, and my boys really like them.  I have only tried this particular recipe with carrots and their cousin, parsnips.  I’ll experiment in the future with other root veggies, and I encourage you to do the same!  The parsnips, once roasted, have a sweet flavor that works very well with the smokey spices.  You could change it up a bit and use all parsnips or all carrots, and play around with the spices to see what you like the best.

Smokey Roasted Root Fries

Smoky Roasted Root Fries
serves 4

ingredients
4 medium-sized organic carrots, peeled
4 medium-sized organic parsnips, peeled
1 Tbsp coconut oil
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp garlic powder
sea salt & cracked black pepper, to taste

directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Cut carrots and parsnips into “fries” that are approximately 2-1/2″ long and 1/4″ thick.  Toss veggies in coconut oil, making sure they are evenly coated.  Toss again with paprika, cumin, and garlic powder.  Spread veggies onto a baking sheet in a single layer.  Roast them in the oven for 20 minutes, then stir.  Continue roasting for another 15 minutes, until they are nice and browned.  Remove from oven and toss with sea salt and cracked black pepper.

We like to serve them with a side of my husband’s Most Excellent Guacamole, or homemade mayo.  Throughout dinner, we heard, “Can I have your fries?” from my 9-year old.  Needless to say, we had no leftovers.

Always,
Abbey

Leave a comment